Canada’s Trampoline Champ


Rosie Maclennan is the 24-year-old trampolinist who won the only gold medal for Canada at the 2012 Olympics. She says that to mentally prepare for a big competition, like the Olympics, she doesn’t think about the outcome, she just focuses on the task at hand.  “In many ways, it’s just another day of jumping,” she says.  She trained 34 hours a week before the Olympics and her diet was gluten free, sugar free and dairy free.

How do you mentally prepare for a big competition?

Leading up to major competitions, I do have goals set in my mind of what I would like to accomplish but focus on each and every day of training so that I do not get ahead of myself- giving my everything on every turn. I be sure to focus on the fact that I love the sport, I do it because it is my passion and I really enjoy the preparation as much as the competition itself. At the competition, I focus on my routines. I focus on the task at hand and know that I am physically prepared and ready. I do not focus on the outcome because that takes away. I also remind myself that it is something that I have trained for and do everyday and that it is in many ways, another day of jumping. Then I take a deep breath, go through my routine, then begin.

Do you have a special diet?

I do not always have a special diet but everything in moderation. Leading up to the games I was predominantly gluten free, dairy free and sugar free because I felt that this gave me the best energy.

How many hours a week did you train before the Olympics?

I was training 18 hours on the trampoline, 6 in a strength and conditioning gym, 2 hours of pilates, 6 hours of recovery, 2 hours of osteopathy.

How long did it take you to make and perfect your routines?

Routines constantly evolve but the routines I competed in London I started training in December 2011. I did my routine hundreds of times before competing in London.

Have you tried tumbling or double-mini?

I tried double mini when I was young but decided to focus on trampoline at age 12.

How did you feel after winning gold and beating your team mate?

It was bitter sweet – I was very proud of my performance and my result, I knew that my hard work had paid off but I would have loved nothing more than to have Karen and I on the podium. She has been a huge part of my athletic career as role model, friend, teammate, travelbuddy. There is no way I would be where I am without her.

What was Karen’s reaction?

Karen was disappointed with her own result, she wanted to be on the podium and placing 4th is likely the most challenging place to come. She was very happy and proud of me though.

Did you expect to win?

I did not expect to win. Our sport is so volatile. I trained to put myself in the best position possible and never limited myself but focused on the task at hand rather than outcomes.

How do you deal with a bad day?

I deal with bad days by trying to appreciate what they teach you. You can always learn something and in order to really appreciate the good days, you have to experience both extremes. I face them as a challenge.

What kind of teenager were you?

I was a very busy teenager between school, trampoline and dance. I had group of close friends but was not always the most outgoing person. I loved my friends and spending time with them, I loved training and I loved that I had opportunities through trampoline even though it meant I could not always be as social as I wanted.

– By Maya (with help from Emily, Cosette, Elan, Chamberlain, Blake, Abbi)

