How Old is too Old for Trick-or-Treating?

Every year, teens across Canada struggle with the difficult question of whether or not they are too old to put on a wig and go shake the neighbours down for candy.   In an effort to help calm the controversy, we turned to our readers and asked:   “How old is too old for trick-or-treating?  What about dressing up?”  Here’s what they had to say:

Megan:  “You are never too old for shameless wholesome Halloween fun!”

Jenny: “What she said. I’m 17 and I’m going to be a unicorn this year!”

Stephanie:  “Trick-or-treating? Probably 16.  Dressing up? Never.”

Ryan: “If your shaking hands can’t hold a dumpster filled with sugary goodness, you might be too old. However, hiring a pack animal is completely acceptable. As for dressing up, if kids are crying at your everyday attire, there’s really no need. If you’re out of style by a century, putting effort into a costume might actually be fatal.”

Kristy: “I went when I was in Grade 12, it was quite the adrenaline rush because my mom didn’t know.”

Cameron: “I went trick or treating when I was 14, and someone asked me, ‘Wow, did you drive here?'”

Julie: “NO!  You’re not “too old” for Halloween! but I did stop trick-or-treating at 13.”

