Urban Heartbeat

Photo by Laura Baldwinson

Photography, fashion, models. It’s hard to picture one without the other. Recently, I had the chance to talk to 18-year-old Nanaimo photographer, Laura Baldwinson. One of her latest shoots had her in Vancouver, shooting in the grungy heart of the city. Her style is ethereal and bold. They say a picture is worth a thousand words, and most of hers speak for themselves, but here’s a peek behind the scenes:

How did you put this shoot together?

When I’m organizing shoots I use a few different websites like Model Mayhem and Facebook to put together a team consisting of at least one model, a makeup artist and a hair stylist. At this photo shoot I did also have a clothing stylist and assistant. The whole team lives in Vancouver, so we decided to do the shoot over there instead of in Nanaimo.

What inspired you to do this?

The overall theme of the shoot was urban summer grunge. I put together a “look book” with the makeup, hair and clothing styles I was inspired by, so the team could style the shoot the way I pictured it.

What’s your photography style?

My personal favorite style of photography is fashion, which I’ve been focusing on more now. I’ve been told my style is usually ethereal and whimsical. I do also do creative shoots, family photos and weddings.
What is the relationship between the photographer and model?
In this case I had never met either of the models before, so in order to keep a good connection with the models I got to know them a bit while they were in hair and makeup, and maintained a connection with them throughout the shoot. As long as everyone’s having a good time, the connection is great.

What’s your favourite tool to use at a photo shoot besides your camera?

Maybe my reflector, I’m not sure. It’s kinda fun and helps create a catch light in the model’s eyes on cloudy days.

What kind of camera do you use?

I use a Canon 40D, my first and only DSLR! It’s about time for an update.

Is the equipment you use important, or could you get similar results with less?

Well the camera body I have right now is nothing special but it’s still a good camera. Lenses are more important than camera bodies though, if you are looking for quality and range in photographs, get a good lens and you will be set.

– By Robin Zemek and Sarah Sandford

