Local Spotlight: Stef Lang

Stef Lang is a 23-year-old singer-songwriter born and raised in Ladysmith BC.  At the age of 17, Stef left the island to pursue a career in music.  She now lives in Vancouver, has signed a deal with Nettwerk One/Milk Music and has just completed a cross Canada tour with her new ep “Fighting Mirrors”.  Songs from her debut album, “The Underdog,” have been featured on Degrassi and Rookie Blue.

How would you describe your musical style?

My musical style is in the pop vein but I still include organic elements like the acoustic guitar and piano. I like to explore over hiphop beats and use different synths as well.

Who are your influences?

I’ve been influenced by Tegan and Sara, Ani Difranco, Joni Mitchell, Alicia Keys and many more!

Where have you performed and who have you shared a stage with?

I’ve just completed my second cross Canadian tour playing in towns and cities as far as Quebec, including some US shows in New York and Missouri. I also enjoyed playing for the 2010 Winter Olympics in Vancouver. I’ve shared stages with Fefe Dobson, These Kids Wear Crowns, Ron Sexsmith and Suzie McNeil to name a few…

When is your next mid-island performance?

Unfortunately we only had time to play in Nanaimo, Ladysmith and Duncan on this last tour so I’m headed down Island to show my love to Victoria on June 30th at The Shark Club!

Why do you do what you do?  What inspires you?

I do what I do simply because I love to do it. I’m inspired by the people around me, by my life experiences and I draw from them to create my art. Heartbreak is my most common muse, but I love to explore many other topics as well.

